Archive for August, 2010

William B. Travis portrait donated to Travis County

Last year, Sally Mauck, a descendant of the D.W. Stallworth family and relative of William B. Travis, very generously donated a portrait of William Barret Travis to Travis County. Travis County was named for William B. Travis in 1839.

William B. Travis was the son of Mark Travis and Jemima Stallworth; D.W. Stallworth’s father was the first cousin of Jemima.  The portrait of Travis, which is likely a reproduction of an old daguerrotype, had been passed down through the Travis and Stallworth families.  In 1926, a copy was donated by D.W. Stallworth to the Alamo, where it still hangs today.  Mrs. Mauck has very kindly had an additional reproduction created and framed for Travis County.  The Travis County Archives gratefully thanks Mrs. Mauck and her family for this generous gift!  The portrait now hangs on the second floor of the Heman Marion Sweatt Travis County Courthouse.

Mrs. Sally Mauck, her daughter Valeria Jones, and grandson Pierce Jones stand before the portrait of William B. Travis in the Heman Marion Sweatt Travis County Courthouse

Mrs. Mauck has also loaned the Travis County Archives a rifle barrel that belonged to William B. Travis as a child.  The gun was passed down to his nephew Mark Travis, who in turn gave it to D.W. Stallworth.  The rifle barrel can be viewed on the third floor of the Heman Marion Sweatt Travis County Courthouse.  We thank Mrs. Mauck for the opportunity to display this unique, historical artifact!

Rifle barrel once owned by William B. Travis, on display in the Heman Marion Sweatt Travis County Courthouse

Advertisements